Hack School Library Day in the Life. Day one

Inspired by some of my fellow UCD classmates , Shona (@shinyshona) , Lucy (@crudlerlu) and Sarah (@Sarahmk87) I have decided to blog this week as a part of the Hack School Library Day in the Life Project.  This seems like an interesting idea and I am interested to see what other MLIS and MLS students do throughout the world.

So to begin, this morning I had a group meeting to discuss the progress of our capstone (group thesis, we have seven members in ours). We are studying Bibliotherapy for teenagers in Irish public libraries. This is great as it gives me a valid excuse to read stupid amounts of YA fiction. Yay!

Unfortunately, whilst running for the bus, a daily occurrence – Dublin Bus realtime info is a fairy tale invented to torture poor commuters -but that’s a different story, my phone decided that it did not want to accompany me to college and flew out of my pocket and into the path of passing gentleman. I did not notice this until I was well on my way to UCD.

So, I arrive into college phoneless and devoid of any timekeeping device in plenty of time for my meeting. Although we are still relatively early into the project we are never short of things to do or discuss. Most of this morning’s meeting was spent discussing the programmes run for teenagers in Irish Public libraries. We were delighted to see that despite the ongoing recession there are still plenty of vibrant and interesting activities being run for teenagers across the country. I am especially looking forward to reading Not Only Adults Drink Tea by Kildare County Council as I am hoping it will give me a greater insight into what teenagers want. We also discussed our literature review and dividedup our tasks for the midterm break (next week, it’s not going to be a holiday unfortunately, with the amount of assignments we have due in the next few weeks).

Meeting over I was due to go to my Digital Libraries class, however, I received an email informing me that the nice gentleman who had found my phone could give it to me but I had to meet him quick pronto (sorry Kalpana). Cue rushing all across town to meet him.

Phone safely in my possession I went home to start work on transcribing an interview that myself and my project partner conducted yesterday for our Research Methods 2 class.

Tip for teachers everywhere: If you want to make your students reflect make them record and transcribe themselves interviewing someone.

To explain, yesterday after conducting the interview I was reasonably happy with it. However, I was kicking myself today as I noticed the amount of markers I didn’t pick up on alongside the various theories we had discussed in class which went out the window the second the recorder started.

Tip number 2: Once it’s done it’s done so now just try and present it in the best light possible and hope no one notices (maybe blogging about it is not the best idea but oh well)

Transcribing takes forever. Luckily I found the interview we did interesting with tonnes of anecdotal evidence so I didn’t find it as tedious as I was warned it would be. It did get to a stage, however, where I thought I may never see the light of day again and would instead remain sitting in front of my computer trying to figure out if the interviewee was taking a short pause or merely breathing – they talk really really fast.  However, despite the fact that we seem to have conducted the worlds longest interview it is finished and spell checked and I do feel like I am more prepared for our official capstone interviews in the upcoming months.

On a final note for anyone else stuck in transcribing purgatory I found this software really handy and I would recommend it for future use.

Leave a Reply

