Hack School Library Day in the Life. Day Two

This is my second post as part of the Hack School Library Day in the Life Project. I’m am a UCD MLIS student in Dublin Ireland.

This morning I woke up early to sunshine streaming in through my window. It was a good start to a productive day. I started with my daily compulsive viewing of my email inboxes (yes plural, there has to be someway of keeping my work and private life separate although some of my college emails have been straying into my private email inbox recently. People seem to find my novelty name easier to remember than my real name). I then shot off the few emails which I needed to before I forgot about it and set off researching some of my projects.

The first project I began to research was from my Information Professional as an Educator class. Myself and my group are looking at and evaluating a local TTRS programme, something I am really excited about because I love literacy and all that comes with it. It turns out though that the first few hits I got were for Audis (apparently it’s also the name of a fancy car) and spammy ad type sites – oh the joys of Google. 

I like to begin my research by running a quick Google search and it gives me some idea of the volume of stuff I’m going to have to wade through before I can find much of value. I know it may seem redundant but I like to put my searches into perspective before I start them properly and this is a way of stopping me from getting too frustrated when I get to my proper search. I found a couple of things which were of interest and will prove helpful in the future so I moved onto my next piece of work…. my Research Methods 2 assignment.

If anyone is reading any other UCD student blogs they may have read about his assignment. That is because it is the most time consuming piece of work we have had to do this semester. We are conducting and transcribing two interviews and two observations. It is due this Thursday so everyone is slightly panicked about it. It’s not that it is necessarily more challenging than the rest of our work; it’s just as I said time consuming, and if there is anything we are permanently short of on our course it is time. 

Today’s task was was writing up the notes I took on my second observation. There’s not much to say about that apart from the fact that it took ages and I am still not finished. 

I was, thankfully, interrupted from this task by a very lovely and pleasant call from a lecturer I had last semester in reply to an email I sent her this morning looking for help. This really made me realise what I had already started to see which is that we are lucky enough to have some dedicated and interested staff at our disposal. This call – alongside the sun, put me in an excellent mood for the rest of the day.

In fact, this is the only thing that got me through the commute from hell to college this afternoon. I know I mentioned Dublin Bus yesterday but they are a joke at the moment. I was late for my Information Educator group meeting as my bus was stuck waiting for the second driver to come and start his shift for twenty minutes. As this is the second time this has happened to me since Saturday they should be expecting a firmly worded letter any minute now (side note- I used to work in call centres; firm works, angry doesn’t). 

My meeting was fine. We divided up work for the midterm (which as mentioned yesterday will be the least holiday like holiday ever with the amount of work we have to do).

Then we had Research Methods 2. We are doing quantitative methods at the moment which I actually kind of enjoy. This may surprise some of my class mates as I’m pretty sure if they see my hand in the air in that class once more it will be snapped off. However, I was lucky enough to be one of only two students in my LC maths class and am a firm believer of asking questions to cover all eventualities in maths until you understand what is going on. I have a blindness for reading graphs so I need to have maths explained to me like I’m a five year old.

Class over I went for dinner with my family and sat at home relaxing to cool urban tunes (Lyrics are NSFW) until I had sufficiently recovered enough to work again. Which I now have so I am off to finish my observation.

I may not blog tomorrow as it is the UCD INFO-SOC’s first table quiz and I love answering pointless questions in a highly competitive manner. Also we can bring booze so it may turn into a late one if I get all my work done in time.

So until Thursday… Adieu

Leave a Reply

